Traced Tank Top

I made this shirt because I loved this fabric and I had 2 “new” toys to play with. One was my double needle that grandma gave me. It sews two lines at the same time so you can get that nice professional/finished look. The other was something I had, but didn’t know I had. I’m not really even sure what it is called, but it rolls the edge of the fabric as it sews and gives you a nice finished edge without any measuring, ironing, folding, or wasting. The other exciting thing was that I got to “make” my own pattern. I traced a tank top I already had (leaving room for a seam), cut it out and sewed it together. I added a nice pink tie on the low cut back.

For then next time I do this I think I will try cutting it on the bias to give it a little bit more give. This time I didn’t because the example top wasn’t cut on the bias, but it was a much lighter rayon and I used cotton. I’m also playing with different ways to finish the arm and neck holes so that it won’t be so thick where the fabric is rolled under. The downside to cotton is that it is thicker than rayon, but it does breath much better.

can you tell my husband is tall?

I couldn’t reach and Spencer’s “bow” was terrifying, but you get the idea.

About catherinecureton

A newlywed crafter with a techie for a husband. Just blogging to keep track of my many scattered projects.

2 responses to “Traced Tank Top

  1. Very cute. My grandmother gave me one on of those “not really even sure what it is called, but it rolls the edge of the fabric as it sews” thingys. It sure has come in handy through the years.

Leave a Reply

